Michigan Gun Laws: All You Needed To Know About How To Register A Handgun In Michigan!
Every citizen of the State of Michigan has the right to keep and bear arms for self-defense or the defense of the State. However, with this comes great responsibility. The moment you put your hand on a firearm, you are entitled to take appropriate measures to keep you and the others around you safe.
To safeguard the welfare of every citizen, the State Government of Michigan has come up with specific rules and regulations that need to be followed by all individuals carrying a gun. Let’s see what are the requirements to receive a license to carry a gun and how to register a handgun in Michigan.
What Are The Criteria To Legally Own A Firearm In The State Of Michigan
Before we come to know how to register a handgun for home defense in Michigan, there are certain things that need to be considered. To legally own a gun in Michigan, one must fulfill specific requirements.
Here are the criteria which need to be satisfied for you to qualify to attain a firearm on legal terms:
- One has to be at least 21 years of age to buy a gun from a dealer or at least 18 years of age to purchase it from any relative.
- If one is convicted of a felony, the eligibility to own a firearm is revoked.
- If there is any pending criminal case against any individual or any old case without a court disposition, then the individual is not qualified to carry a firearm.
- If the individual has a court order that forbids them to bear a firearm, then the individual is not eligible.
- The individual must possess and should be able to present a current and valid picture identification document.
What Do You Need To Receive The Permit Of Registering A Handgun?
Before you purchase a pistol or handgun from a private seller, the first and foremost thing to do is to report to the Sheriff’s Department to obtain a purchase permit. If you are purchasing your firearm from a dealer, then there’s no need to obtain a permit. You can directly go to your dealer.
Let’s see what you need to do if you are considering purchasing your pistol from a private seller:
- You will need a valid identification document with your recent picture.
- You would be required to fill out a general questionnaire to assess your knowledge about handgun carrying rules and regulations.
- The Sheriff’s department might also do a background check to verify whether you fulfill all the criteria.
- Once you are approved, the department will issue a purchase permit to you. The permit consists of three parts that address different requirements. The first section entails the seller’s record, and the second part is meant for the State of Michigan. The third part is to be retained by the new owner of the gun.
- The purchase permit remains valid for 30 days.
- Once you receive your gun, you will have to return the MSP (Michigan State Police) copy of the permit purchase to the Sheriff’s Department. You can mail it or drop it off in person in their office.
What Are The Safety Inspection Rules For Registering Your Handgun In Michigan?
As per the Firearm Law on January 07, 2009, put forward by the State of Michigan, gun owners no longer require to have their firearms safety inspected. However, after you purchase your pistol and once you have returned the MSP copy to the Sheriff’s Office, they will record your information and register the firearm with the State.
Concealed Pistol License: What Are The Requirements?
If you are applying for a CPL, here’s how to register a handgun in Michigan. These are the State Requirements for any Applicant for a Michigan CPL.
The applicant must:
- Be at least 21 years of age.
- Be a citizen of the United States or a foreigner lawfully admitted to the United States.
- Be a legal resident of Michigan for at least six months before applying for CPL.
- Should have proper knowledge of training about safe use and handling of a handgun and completed a pistol safety training course.
- Not be subjected to an order or disposition for any of the following:
- Involuntary hospitalization:
A. Legal incapacitation
B. Personal Protection Order
C. Not have any bond release prohibiting purchase or possession of a firearm.
Any individual who has been granted a CCW license/permit by his/her home state is also allowed to apply for a Michigan Pistol License (CPL).
How Long Is A Michigan CPL Certificate Good For?
A Michigan CPL remains valid for five years. A concealed carry permit expires on the owner’s birth date between the 4th and 5th year from the date of the original issue.
Reasons Why You Should Own A Firearm In Michigan
- Now that you know how to register a handgun in Michigan, it’s time to understand whether it is necessary to carry a firearm in the State. Let’s see what the statistics say:
- The national crime rate in the US is 3.7. However, according to reports filed in 2018, about 30% of the 44918 violent crimes were committed in Michigan.
- In 2019, there have been 273 homicide cases reported in Michigan.
Among all the states in the United States, about 4.5 incidents per 1000 crimes have been reported in Michigan.
Are you thinking of buying a pistol or receiving one from your uncle? Then you should get well-versed in how to register a handgun in Michigan.
We hope this article will help you in understanding the rules and regulations of owning a firearm.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is Carrying a Loaded Gun In your Car Allowed In Michigan?
If you have a valid concealed pistol license, then you can carry handguns in your car. If you do not have a permit, you need to carry the gun in an enclosed case or in the trunk of your car, which should be inaccessible from the car’s interior. In any case, you must unload the handgun.
Q2. Is It Legal To Open Carry In Michigan?
Any Michigan Resident is allowed to open carry without a permit. If you are a non-resident, you must have an open carry permit issued from your home state.
Q3. How Much Does It Cost To Get A CCW License In Michigan?
A new Michigan Concealed Carry weapons license costs about $100. For the renewal of the license, it can cost $115.
Michael Castaneda is a 45-year old war veteran from Michigan with a deep interest in guns. After the war, Michael took a pledge to never touch a gun except for the purpose of self-defense. He created Machine Gun Books to guide people on self-defense and providing information on guns and accessories.